FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Brutal Beginnings

View previous topic :: View next topic  
armoredman
Advanced

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:29 pm    Post subject: Brutal Beginnings Reply with quote

Brutal Beginnings

I knocked heavily on the solid plastic door, having been warned by the attendant that the residents were a bit hard of hearing. A lifetime of explosions and heavy engines in your ears can cause hearing damage the best docbot can’t fix, I guess. I am no doctor, or med tech, just a reporter sub writer, looking desperately for something to make my rent with this month. A dusty old reference to a planet far outside normal channels, and some strange goings on there from many years ago that had affected all of known space caught my eye. It had peaked my considerable interest, and imagine my total shock when I had discovered two of the main players had retired right here on sunny Summervale. How could I not go to visit?
The door slid back smoothly, and a man who had been immense in his time peered at me, eyes set deep in his homely face, blurred with the dim look of degenerative optic nerves.
“What’ll ye be wantin?” he asked in a gravely heavily accented voice.
I cleared my throat, suddenly bashful at who I thought I was facing, “Um, I am looking for a man by the name of Oscar Laird?”
“Ye’ve found him, what d’ye be wantin’ with me?”
“Sir, may I have a moment of your time? My name is Rischard, Rischard Daily, I write for the Summervale Bugle. May I come in?”
The old man muttered, and grumpily gave way into a small retirement apartment cluttered with mementos, actual pen and ink writings, real paper books, and odds and ends of a long lifetime.